

RESOLUTION NO. 20241105 PW1

A RESOLUTION SETTING A POLICY AND PROCEDURES FOR MAILBOX REIMBURSEMENT

WHEREAS; The President and Board of Trustees of the Village of Sugar Grove, Kane County, Illinois, acknowledge that the Village has the responsibility to clear the Village streets after a snow fall; and

WHEREAS; The President and Board of Trustees of the Village of Sugar Grove, Kane County, Illinois, acknowledge that during the winter season and resident's mailbox is occasionally damaged by Village equipment while performing snow removal; and

WHEREAS; the Village understands that mail delivery is important; and

NOW THEREFORE, The President and Board of Trustees of the Village of Sugar Grove, upon motion duly made, seconded and approved, hereby establish a Mailbox Replacement policy and procedures as follows:

- 1. Damage to a mailbox and/or mailbox post that has occurred by Village equipment shall be reimbursed.
- 2. Damage to a mailbox that has occurred by windrow (snow coming off the plow) shall not be reimbursed.
- 3. Damage to a mailbox and/or mailbox post that are not installed to Post Office regulations shall not be reimbursed.
- 4. The resident shall notify the Village that damage to a mailbox and/or mailbox post has occurred.
- 5. Village staff shall generate a work order for inspection of damaged mailbox/post.
- 6. Resident shall be notified of the results of the inspection.
- 7. It shall be the responsibility of the resident to repair or replace the mailbox and/or mailbox post.
- 8. The reimbursement amount shall be up to \$100.00 per residence for parts.
- 9. The resident shall submit a receipt for the replacement of the damaged mailbox and/or post.
- 10. One reimbursement per season per residence shall be given.
- 11. Reimbursement shall be issued within 30 days of submission of receipt.

PASSED AND APPROVED by the Pre Grove, Kane County, Illinois, this 5 ^t				ne Village o	f Sugar
	Jeni	Jennifer Konen, Village President			
	ATTEST:				
		Tracey R. Conti, Village Clerk			
	Aye	Nay	Absent	Abstain	
Trustee Matt Bonnie					
Trustee Sean Herron					
Trustee Heidi Lendi					
Trustee Sean Michels					
Trustee Michael Schomas					
Trustee James F. White					
President Jennifer Konen					