

Proclamation



WHEREAS, the Congress and President of the United States have designated May 15th as "Peace Officers' Memorial Day," and the week in which May 15th falls dedicated as "National Police Week" to honor the service and sacrifice of law enforcement officers fallen in the line of duty and those who continue to enforce our laws, and keep our neighborhoods, schools, and families safe; and

WHEREAS, the members of the law enforcement agencies serving the Village of Sugar Grove, play an essential role in safeguarding the rights and freedoms of the Village of Sugar Grove; and

WHEREAS, it is important that all citizens know and understand the duties, responsibilities, hazards, and sacrifices of their law enforcement agencies and that members of our law enforcement agencies recognize their duty to serve the people by safeguarding life and property, by protecting them against violence and disorder, and by protecting the innocent against deception and the weak against oppression; and

WHEREAS, since the first recorded death in 1786, more than 23,785 law enforcement officers in the United States have made the ultimate sacrifice and been killed in the line of duty, and the names of these dedicated public servants are engraved on the wall of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, 556 new names of fallen heroes are being added to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in 2023, including 224 officers killed in 2022 and 332 officers killed in previous years; and

WHEREAS, the Village of Sugar Grove recognizes and is grateful for the incredible service and sacrifices the members of the Sugar Grove Police Department and their families make each day to protect the citizens of the Village of Sugar Grove.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Village Board of Sugar Grove proclaims the week of

May 14-20, 2023

National Police Week

in recognition of the selfless dedication and bravery of our police officers. All residents are urged to recognize all law enforcement officers, past and present who, by their faithful and loyal service, have established and maintain peace and security in our community.

President, Jennifer Konen

Trustee, Matthew Bonnie Trustee, Sean Michels Trustee, Sean Herron Trustee, Michael Schomas Trustee, Heidi Lendi Trustee, James F. White

Dated this 16th day of May, 2023