VILLAGE OF SUGAR GROVE BOARD REPORT

TO: VILLAGE PRESIDENT & BOARD OF TRUSTEES
FROM: MATT ANASTASIA, FINANCE DIRECTOR
SUBJECT: APPOINTMENT: UTILITY RATE COMMITTEE 2022-2023
AGENDA: NOVEMBER 1, 2022 REGULAR BOARD MEETING
DATE: OCTOBER 28, 2022

ISSUE

Shall the Village Board ratify President Jennifer Konen's proposed appointments to the Village Utility Rate Committee.

DISCUSSION

All Village appointments are authorized by Village Code 1-8-6-C, which states the mode of appointment for any appointed position shall be by the President subject to the advice and consent of the Village Board.

In 1994, there was a settlement between the Village of Sugar Grove and Prestbury Citizens Association regarding the setting of Utility Water & Sewer Rates. Within the settlement, it was required for the Village to hold a Utility Rate Committee every 3 years, to discuss the next 3years of potential Water & Sewer Rates. This Committee is an advisory committee, with the Village Board making the final decision on the Utility Rates annually. The Committee last met on December 2019, which covered the advisory rates through Fiscal Year 2022-2023.

The settlement states the Committee must consist of no more than 9 members and no less than 7 members, with at least 3 members being appointed by the Prestbury Citizens Association. At the December 2019 meeting, the representatives from the Village were Village President Sean Michels, Public Works Director Anthony Speciale, Deputy Public Works Director Brad Merkel, Finance Director Matt Anastasia and Village Resident Lisa Lund. The Prestbury Citizens Association appointed Bill Gain, Dick Sackett, Lee Boergadine, and Tom Brewer.

I have reached out to Lisa Lund, on behalf of the Village, to see if she was interested in serving on the Committee again, which she agreed to join again. The Prestbury Citizens Association were asked who they were appointing this year. PCA confirmed that Tom Brewer, Mike Krzus, Mike Beatus and Kate Matty would be representing the Association on the Committee. President Jennifer Konen is asking the Board support the appointment of President Konen, PW Director Anthony Speciale, Deputy PW Director Brad Merkel, Finance Director Matt Anastasia, and Village resident Lisa Lund to the Utility Rate Committee for 2022-2023. The Village Board also affirming Prestbury Citizens Associations appointment of Tom Brewer, Mike Krzus, Mike Beatus and Kate Matty to the Committee.

COST

There is no cost associated with this action.

RECOMMENDATION

That the Village Board ratifies the appointments to the Utility Rate Committee 2022-2023 as proposed by President Jennifer Konen.