Village President Jennifer Konen

Village Administrator Brent M. Eichelberger



Village Trustees

Matthew Bonnie Sean Herron Heidi Lendi Michael Schomas Ryan Walter James F. White

June 8, 2021 Special Board Meeting 6:00 p.m.

1. Call to Order

President Konen called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

President Konen asked Trustee Bonnie to lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Roll Call

The June 8, 2021 Special Village Board meeting was held in person in the Board Room at Village Hall.

Present: 6	President Jennifer Konen, Trustee Matt Bonnie, Trustee Sean Herron,	
	Trustee Heidi Lendi, Trustee Michael Schomas, Trustee James F. White	
Absent: 1	Trustee Ryan Walter	

Also Present:

Administrator Eichelberger, Attorney Julien, Public Works Director Speciale, Community Development Director Magdziarz, Police Chief Rollins, Public Works Deputy Director Merkel, and Senior Management Analyst/Village Clerk Murphy

4. Public Comment on Items Scheduled for Action

None

5. General Business

a. Ordinance: Rezoning from B-3 to R-2 - 230 Main Street

Director Magdziarz presented the ordinance rezoning the property at 230 Main Street from B-3 Commercial District to R-2 Residential District as previously discussed at the June 1, 2021 meeting.

A motion was made by Trustee White, seconded by Trustee Herron, to approve an ordinance reclassifying certain property (230 Main Street) subject to typo corrections. The motion carried by the following vote:

AYE: 5	White, Herron, Lendi, Bonnie, Schomas
Nays: 0	None
Absent: 1	Walter

b. Ordinance: Granting a Zoning Variation to the Side Yard Minimum - 1912 Fays Lane

Director Magdziarz presented the ordinance granting a zoning variation to the side yard minimum. The ordinance does include the requirements discussed at the June 1, 2021 meeting.

A motion was made by Trustee Schomas, seconded by Trustee Herron, to approve an ordinance granting a zoning variation (1912 Fays Lane). The motion carried by the following vote:

AYE: 5Schomas, Herron, Bonnie, Lendi, WhiteNays: 0NoneAbsent: 1Walter

6. Discussion Items

a. Town Center Committee

President Konen presented the proposed scope of the Town Center and the creation of a Town Center Committee. Konen stated that property owner Ron Cope is agreeable to partner in the development of a Town Center on his 133 contiguous acres located directly south of Galena Boulevard/north of IL Route 56/one-quarter mile east of IL Route 47. She explained her vision for the Town Center development would focus on walkability, mixed-used development, public space and commons, street life and gathering spots, compact communities and lively social connections, recreation, arts, and clean energy. The next steps are to set committee objectives and expectations and for the committee to refine the Town Center vision. Board discussion ensued.

b. Village Liaisons

President Konen proposed the designation of Village Board liaisons to various local and regional entities as follows:

State, Kane County, Neighboring Municipalities, Metro West Council of Governments - Konen
Schools (Kaneland, West Aurora, Waubonsee Community College) - Herron
Library - Lendi
Fire Protection District, Kane County Sheriff - Bonnie
Township (Township, Road District, Assessor, Community Building) – will ask
representative from Township Board, possibly White
Economic Development Corporation - Walter
Airport – Joe Wolf, White as alternative
Aurora Area Convention and Visitors Bureau – will look for a resident representative
Groovin' in the Grove - Schomas
Kane County Forest Preserve District, SG Park District - Schomas
Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee – White
Town Center Committee – Herron, Lendi

Corn Boil - Walter

The Board reached agreement on the designations.

7. Public Comment

Matthew Morrell stated his enthusiasm for the ideas presentation regarding a Town Center.

8. Closed Session

A motion was made by Trustee Herron, seconded by Trustee Bonnie, to adjourn to Closed Session per the exception to the Open Meetings Act Appointment, Employment, Compensation, Discipline, Performance, or Dismissal of Personnel [5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)] to discuss appointments to the Plan Commission and Police Pension Board, taking no action and adjourning therefrom at 7:16 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

AYE: 5	Herron, Bonnie, White, Schomas, Lendi
Nays: 0	None
Absent: 1	Walter

9. Adjournment

A motion was made by Trustee Schomas, seconded by Trustee Herron, to adjourn the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees at 8:04 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

AYE: 5	Schomas, Herron, White, Bonnie, Lendi
Nays: 0	None
Absent: 1	Walter

ATTEST:

<u>/s/ Alison Murphy</u> Alison Murphy Village Clerk